Movies I’ve seen recently.

I went to see “Frozen” the day after Christmas; it was delightful. This is loosely based on, and much less dark than, Hans Christian Anderson’s “The Snow Queen”. It’s a sweet story about two sisters, Elsa and Anna. They are best friends but grow apart. The songs are catchy and the characters are engaging. The personality differences between Elsa and Anna and how Anna struggles to reach her sister who is shutting her out make for a good storyline. Of course, as is usually the case with Disney films, the sidekicks (Sven the reindeer and Olaf the snowman) add to the fun. The sisters become close again by the end of the movie.

Frozen_(2013_film)_poster

The nephew and I went to see “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” in the middle of December.

The_Hobbit_-_The_Desolation_of_Smaug_theatrical_poster

I thought it was well done. There was a lot of action and the fight scenes were exciting. The Elves rocked. I loved the escape-in-the-barrels scene. Bilbo, the Dwarves and the Elves all had their own concerns, but their concerns overlapped also, and Gandalf was at the center of the events.

“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” was somewhat slower paced but I liked it a lot also. Bilbo, Frodo and Gandalf made it worth watching.

220px-The_Hobbit-_An_Unexpected_Journey

At the end of November, I went to see “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”.

 

220px-Catching-Fire_poster

I jumped on The Hunger Games bandwagon rather late, but better late than never. I watched the first movie on Netflix before I went to see “Catching Fire”.

220px-HungerGamesPoster

I liked both movies; the story of the aftermath of the war and what was happening in the Districts of Panem in the first one was good. I thought the “Catching Fire” storyline was more interesting, however, with its focus on what went on in the games. Woody Harrelson did an outstanding job as Haymitch. Love triangles usually make good stories, so what was going on between Katniss, Peeta and Gale helped also.

I did like the books better, but that is usually the case when I watch movies based on books. In fairness, it can be tricky to condense a book into a two or two and a half hour movie.

Leave a Reply

