Henrietta Lacks and Ted Dekker

I’m on page 104 of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, and liking it a lot.  It’s very interesting.  I hope to be finished, or at least almost finished, with it by next weekend. It’s much shorter than Game of Thrones so that shouldn’t be hard.

I read Water Walker  by Ted Dekker several months ago.  Ted’s books can be a bit bizarre, but I like them.

952746

The story is about Alice Ringwald, who has suffered terrible abuse and is trying to survive.  I like the theme of forgiveness and how forgiveness brings freedom.  I agree with the idea that focusing on your circumstances and other people will drag at you.  However, I do have a problem with the idea that you have to blindly accept abuse or that you have to hang out with someone who has abused you.  That may not be what Ted is trying to say, but it’s my perception that might have been at least part of the idea.  There is a difference between forgiveness and reconciliation.  Reconciliation requires effort on the part of more than one person; forgiveness doesn’t.

Forgiveness does include letting go and moving on, and I think part of that is not remaining in bad and/or unhealthy situations or relationships.

Whatever the case, I did enjoy the book.

Leave a Reply

