What I’ve been reading lately

I have read:

Echoes of Narcissus in the Gardens of Delight by Jo  Robinson.   This is an interesting story about a woman dealing with someone who has narcissistic personality disorder.  I like the underlying hope and how the main character, Donna, overcomes her challenges and builds a life for herself without her abusive husband.

echoes

A Mountain of Mystery by Carole Jefferson.  Sadie’s friend Edwin inherits his parent’s Victorian house and finds an antique wedding gown in the attic.  This wouldn’t be unusual except there is a bullet hole in the dress.  Sadie sets out to uncover old secrets.  This is an enjoyable book, and I love the mountain setting.

msp1-mountain-mystery_3d

I enjoyed Ismeni and The Legend of Sheba by Tosca Lee tremendously. Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres.  Ismeni is a love story told from the perspective of the woman who becomes the mother of the Queen of Sheba.  The Legend of Sheba concerns a queen going on a long journey in an attempt to ease political tension and establish trade routes between her empire and the kingdom of Solomon, the King of Israel.

ismeni

sheba

I most recently finished Antebellum Awakening, the second book in the Network Series by Katie Cross.  I blogged about the first book, Miss Mabel’s School for Girls, HERE

In Antebellum Awakening, the main character, Bianca Monroe, moves to Chatham Castle following the events in Miss Mabel’s School for Girls.  She is coping with grief resulting from her mother’s death at the hands of Miss Mabel (she is SO evil), and to make things worse, she has only six months to break the curse she is under.  It’s interesting to see Bianca work through her issues; tragedy, loss and moving on are themes most readers can relate to.  I like the interaction between Bianca and Leda, Camille, Michelle and Mildred.  This book is worth reading.

antebellumawakening

I am currently reading Snare of Serpents by Victoria Holt.

snareofserpents

I am still plugging away at Lord of the Rings; I’m going to take my time getting through that one.

I want to read The Star Scroll, the second book in the Dragon Prince series by Melanie Rawn and Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt (I watched the movie on Amazon and liked it) so those are on my TBR list.

 

Leave a Reply

