What I’m Reading

King Arthur Stories

I am still reading about King Arthur, which I last blogged about HERE

I ended up reading the stories from the book pictured above rather than the book pictured in my blog post HERE

This collection published by Maplewood Books consists of six versions of the King Arthur legend by various writers.  It includes:  Le Morte d’ Arthur by Sir Thomas Malory.  This is the definitive version, but also one of the most challenging because of the older English writing style.  Idylls of the King by Alfred, Lord Tennyson is a retelling of King Arthur in poetic form. King Arthur and His Knights by Maude Radford Warren is a family-friendly version of King Arthur.  King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table by Sir James Knowles is a simpler version for general readers. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight is a poem about how Sir Gawain, one of King Athur’s knights, accepts a challenge from the mysterious Green Knight.  The original poem is from the late 14th Century, but there are more modern versions by J.R.R. Tolkien and Simon Armitage.  The last story is A Connecticut in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain, and is about what happens when a young man from the 19th Century is knocked out and wakes up to find himself in King Athur’s court.

The King Arthur Collection provides some historical background about the King Arthur legend and a list of plays, movies and television shows. So far I have finished the stories by Knowles and am nearly finished with Warren’s stories.  I will read the others as I am able.

I actually like this King Arthur story a lot.

movieposter

PanEldridge

I like different takes on the Peter Pan story.  I’m reading The Pan:  Experiencing Neverland by Matthew Hawk Eldridge.  The basic concept is the same; Peter is a boy who refuses to grow up.  However, this Peter is an orphan who runs away from his abusive uncle in England and ends up in Tortuga where he meets Wendy and the lost boys, and of course ends up battling Captain Hook.  This version of Peter Pan is imaginative and engaging.

 

 

 

One thought on “What I’m Reading

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reading | mchllmdm

Leave a Reply

