Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

harry-potter-and-the-cursed-child-poster-461923

I read this book version of the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and it is enjoyable. I love the Harry Potter books and characters, so I am glad for the latest story.

Albus Potter (Harry and Ginny’s son) and Scorpius Malfoy (Draco and Astoria Malfoy’s son) have to prevent time from being altered so that Voldemort doesn’t win and change reality.

The good:  I enjoy time travel stories, and the idea of going back in time to correct things is interesting. I like how the story continues with next generation after Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  The interaction between the characters, especially Albus and Scorpius’ friendship, is engaging.  The underlying themes of  the characters (Harry, Albus, Draco and Scorpius in particular) dealing with feeling they have to meet everyone’s expectations, having feelings of inadequacy, and expressing grief are interesting.  The idea of having to to decide whether to do the right thing is there as it has been throughout the series.

The problems:  I would like to have seen more of Rose (Ron and Hermione’s daughter) and Lily and James (Harry and Ginny’s kids).  I wasn’t sure what to think about Delphi’s character either.  This didn’t prevent me from liking the story however.  This is a play, so it is better to watch rather than read the story.  I would be interested in seeing this in novel form, and I do want to see the play when I have the opportunity, but I am going to have to wait until it comes to the States.

In the meantime, this is worth reading, and it works as a standalone story.

Leave a Reply

