What I’m Reading

silversword1

I like Phyllis Whitney’s books.  I had read Silversword before but thought a revisit was worthwhile.  The setting is wonderful.  I have been to Hawaii and it’s beautiful.  The history included in the story is interesting, and the plot concerning the young woman, Caroline Kirby, going back to her childhood home to get some answers is engaging.

nigthttimeguardian

I love Amanda Stevens’ books; her romance/mysteries are well-written.  I have read Nighttime Guardian before too, but decided to read it again.  The setting, near a river in Arkansas, is intriguing.  The storyline involving Shelby Westmoreland, who is dealing with past trauma, an ailing grandmother and the death of a loved one is engaging.  I went through Arkansas on a family trip a number of years ago, and I don’t remember exactly what part, but think it wasn’t very far from the Tennessee border, so it may have been the same general area as the book setting.  I love this part of the country and would like to visit it again one day.

dogbonesoup

This is an excellent book.  It concerns the life of a family in the Eastern U.S. during the 50s and 60s, and what life was like for poor families in the suburbs.  The main character, Shawn Daniels, deals with challenges because of a dysfunctional family (largely because of the father, Eddy’s, alcoholism, but there are other issues too, including their poverty).  The theme is rather grim, but the story does have underlying hope as Shawn strives to better his circumstances.

King Arthur Stories

An update on my re-read challenge which I last blogged about here Re-Read Challenge

I’m reading Le Morte d’ Arthur by Thomas Malory now.  It is long, so I’ll do my best to finish it and the other two stories in this book by the end of the year.  That’s part of the fun, I can go at my own pace and modify as I want to.

washingtonirving

I thought it would be fun to re-read some holiday classics since it is holiday time.  I read The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Rip Van Winkle; both are good for Halloween.  The stories aren’t very long, so it didn’t take me that long to read them.

charlesdickes

I’m going to re-read A Christmas Carol and The Cricket on the Hearth for the Christmas season.  These stories aren’t very long either, so I should be able to finish them before the end of the year.

nutcracker

I am going to do my best to re-read The Nutcracker by the end of the year also.  This is one of my favorite stories, and I try to either go to a local play or at least watch it on DVD every year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What I’m Reading

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reading-Re-Read challenge | mchllmdm

Leave a Reply

